English
United States
Sign in
Tip from find-more-books.com
Similar books
More/other books that might be very similar to this book
Search tools
Book recommendations
Latest news
Advertising
FILTER
- 0 Results
Lowest price: 0.75 €, highest price: 19.95 €, average price: 10.32 €
The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life - Goolrick, Robert
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Goolrick, Robert:
The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life - hardcover

ISBN: 9781565124813

[ED: Hardcover], [PU: ALGONQUIN BOOKS OF CHAPEL HILL], It was the 1950s, a time of calm, a time when all things were new and everything seemed possible. A few years before, a noble war had been won, and now life had returned to normal. For one little boy, however, life had become anything but "normal." To all appearances, he and his family lived an almost idyllic life. The father was a respected professor, the mother a witty and elegant lady, someone everyone loved. They were parents to three bright, smiling children: two boys and a girl. They lived on a sunny street in a small college town nestled neatly in a leafy valley. They gave parties, hosted picnics, went to church-just like their neighbors. To all appearances, their life seemed ideal. But it was, in fact, "all" appearances. Lineage, tradition, making the right impression-these were matters of great importance, especially to the mother. But behind the facade this family had created lurked secrets so dark, so painful for this one little boy, that his life would never be the same. It is through the eyes of that boy-a grown man now, revisiting that time-that we see this seemingly serene world and watch as it slowly comes completely and irrevocably undone. Beautifully written, often humorous, sometimes sweet, ultimately shocking, this is a son's story of looking back with both love and anger at the parents who gave him life and then robbed him of it, who created his world and then destroyed it. As author Lee Smith, who knew this world and this family, observed, "Alcohol may be the real villain in this pain-permeated, exquisitely written memoir of childhood-but it is also filled with absolutely dead-on social commentary of this very particular time and place. A brave, haunting, riveting book."Versandfertig in über 4 Wochen, [SC: 0.00]

New book Booklooker.de
buecher.de GmbH & Co. KG
Shipping costs:Versandkostenfrei, Versand nach Deutschland (EUR 0.00)
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life - Robert Goolrick
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Robert Goolrick:
The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life - used book

ISBN: 1565124812

ID: 3970797

It was the 1950s, a time of calm, a time when all things were new and everything seemed possible. A few years before, a noble war had been won, and now life had returned to normal. For one little boy, however, life had become anything but "normal." To all appearances, he and his family lived an almost idyllic life. The father was a respected professor, the mother a witty and elegant lady, someone everyone loved. They were parents to three bright, smiling children: two boys and a girl. They lived on a sunny street in a small college town nestled neatly in a leafy valley. They gave parties, hosted picnics, went to church-just like their neighbors. To all appearances, their life seemed ideal. But it was, in fact, all appearances. Lineage, tradition, making the right impression-these were matters of great importance, especially to the mother. But behind the facade this family had created lurked secrets so dark, so painful for this one little boy, that his life would never be the same. It is through the eyes of that boy-a grown man now, revisiting that time-that we see this seemingly serene world and watch as it slowly comes completely and irrevocably undone. Beautifully written, often humorous, sometimes sweet, ultimately shocking, this is a son's story of looking back with both love and anger at the parents who gave him life and then robbed him of it, who created his world and then destroyed it. As author Lee Smith, w biographies,death and grief,dysfunctional relationships,family relationships,grief and bereavement,memoirs,self-help Grief & Bereavement, Algonquin Books

Used or antiquarian book Thriftbooks.com
used Shipping costs:zzgl. Versandkosten, plus shipping costs
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life - Robert Goolrick
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Robert Goolrick:
The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life - hardcover

2007, ISBN: 1565124812

ID: 6775074642

[EAN: 9781565124813], Gebraucht, wie neu, [PU: Algonquin Books], Biography & Autobiography|Personal Memoirs, Only slightly differentiated from a new book. Undamaged cover and spine. Pages may display light wear but no marks.

Used or antiquarian book Abebooks.de
Green Earth Books, Portland, OR, U.S.A. [3961782] [Rating: 5 (von 5)]
NOT NEW BOOK Shipping costs: EUR 7.13
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life - Robert Goolrick
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Robert Goolrick:
The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life - new book

ISBN: 9781565124813

ID: 9781565124813

The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life Author :Robert Goolrick 9781565124813 1565124812, [PU: Algonquin Books]

New book printsasia.de
new Shipping costs: EUR 0.00
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life - Robert Goolrick
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Robert Goolrick:
The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life - new book

ISBN: 9781565124813

ID: 172864121

NA World, Workman Publishing Company Inc

New book Printsasia
new Shipping costs:zzgl. Versandkosten, plus shipping costs
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.

Details of the book
The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life

In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over but the Shoutin'," Robert Goolrick has crafted a classic memoir of childhood and the secrets hidden in a heart that can't forget. In the Goolrick home there was a law: Never talk about the family in the outside world, never reveal the slightest crack in the facade. In "The End of the World as We Know It," the author takes us back to the seemingly idyllic world his father and mother created in their home in a small Southern college town, a world of gentle men and lovely ladies and cocktails and party dresses-- a world being eroded by a family history of alcoholism. As Goolrick grew to be a man, his childhood held memories that would not let go, memories that held a secret that followed him wherever he went, defining and directing his days. Over time, the secret grew so big it threatened to rip the world apart. And then it did. With devastating honesty and razor-sharp wit, he looks back with love, and with anger, at the parents who both created his world and destroyed it. As Lee Smith (author of "On Agate Hill") observed, " Alcohol may be the real villain in this pain-permeated, exquisitely written memoir of a Virginia childhood-- but it is also filled with absolutely dead-on social commentary of this very particular time and place. A brave, haunting, riveting book."

Details of the book - The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life


EAN (ISBN-13): 9781565124813
ISBN (ISBN-10): 1565124812
Hardcover
Publishing year: 2007
Publisher: ALGONQUIN BOOKS OF CHAPEL HILL
213 Pages
Weight: 0,404 kg
Language: eng/Englisch

Book in our database since 29.05.2007 04:24:32
Book found last time on 08.12.2016 18:33:08
ISBN/EAN: 9781565124813

ISBN - alternate spelling:
1-56512-481-2, 978-1-56512-481-3


< to archive...
Related books