. .
English
United States
Similar books
Search tools
Sign in
Share this book on...
Book recommendations
Latest news
Tip from find-more-books.com
Advertising
FILTER
- 0 Results
Lowest price: 0.96 €, highest price: 15.89 €, average price: 7.03 €
Peony In Love - Lisa See
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Lisa See:

Peony In Love - used book

2007, ISBN: 9780747582489

ID: 1001004005440890

“I finally understand what the poets have written. In spring, moved to passion; in autumn only regret.”For young Peony, betrothed to a suitor she has never met, these lyrics from The Peony Pavilion mirror her own longings. In the garden of the Chen Family Villa, amid the scent of ginger, green tea, and jasmine, a small theatrical troupe is performing scenes from this epic opera, a live spectacle few females have ever seen. Like the heroine in the drama, Peony is the cloistered daughter of ..., “I finally understand what the poets have written. In spring, moved to passion; in autumn only regret.”For young Peony, betrothed to a suitor she has never met, these lyrics from The Peony Pavilion mirror her own longings. In the garden of the Chen Family Villa, amid the scent of ginger, green tea, and jasmine, a small theatrical troupe is performing scenes from this epic opera, a live spectacle few females have ever seen. Like the heroine in the drama, Peony is the cloistered daughter of a wealthy family, trapped like a good-luck cricket in a bamboo-and-lacquer cage. Though raised to be obedient, Peony has dreams of her own.Peony’s mother is against her daughter’s attending the production: “Unmarried girls should not be seen in public.” But Peony’s father assures his wife that proprieties will be maintained, and that the women will watch the opera from behind a screen. Yet through its cracks, Peony catches sight of an elegant, handsome man with hair as black as a cave–and is immediately overcome with emotion.So begins Peony’s unforgettable journey of love and destiny, desire and sorrow–as Lisa See’s haunting new novel, based on actual historical events, takes readers back to seventeenth-century China, after the Manchus seize power and the Ming dynasty is crushed. Steeped in traditions and ritual, this story brings to life another time and place–even the intricate realm of the afterworld, with its protocols, pathways, and stages of existence, a vividly imagined place where one’s soul is divided into three, ancestors offer guidance, misdeeds are punished, and hungry ghosts wander the earth. Immersed in the richness and magic of the Chinese vision of the afterlife, transcending even death, Peony in Love explores, beautifully, the many manifestations of love. Ultimately, Lisa See’s new novel addresses universal themes: the bonds of friendship, the power of words, and the age-old desire of women to be heard.From the Hardcover edition.Taal: Engels; Afmetingen: 23x234x153 mm; Gewicht: 400,00 gram; Verschijningsdatum: oktober 2007; ISBN10: 0747582483; ISBN13: 9780747582489; , Engelstalig | Paperback | 2007, Literatuur & Romans, Historische romans, Literatuur & Romans, Literaire romans, MacMillan

Used Book Bol.com
Crown 2e hands Corner [8.9]
Goed, isbn nummer 9780747592730 / paperback, Particuliere verkoper, wij proberen alle soorten boeken met de juist vermelde kwaliteit te verkopen want wij kunnen slechte kwaliteit ook niet waarderen. we doen ons best de bestellingen zo snel mogelijk te be Shipping costs:1 - 8 dagen, plus shipping costs
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
Peony in Love - Lisa See
book is out-of-stock
(*)

Lisa See:

Peony in Love - used book

2007, ISBN: 0747582483

ID: 17855913959

[EAN: 9780747582489], Gebraucht, sehr guter Zustand, [PU: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC 01/10/2007], Fiction|Romance|Historical, This book is in very good condition and will be shipped within 24 hours of ordering. The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. This book has clearly been well maintained and looked after thus far. Money back guarantee if you are not satisfied. See all our books here, order more than 1 book and get discounted shipping. .

Used Book Abebooks.de
AwesomeBooks, Wallingford, United Kingdom [51737811] [Rating: 5 (von 5)]
NOT NEW BOOK Shipping costs: EUR 2.02
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
Peony in Love - Lisa See
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Lisa See:
Peony in Love - Paperback

2007

ISBN: 0747582483

ID: 7564977416

[EAN: 9780747582489], Neubuch, [PU: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC], GENERAL ENGLISH PAPERBACK REGULAR SIZE, Fiction|Romance|Historical, No.1 BESTSELLERS - great prices, friendly customer service â€" all orders are dispatched next working day.

New book Abebooks.de
Bestsellersuk, Hereford, United Kingdom [54722980] [Rating: 5 (von 5)]
NEW BOOK Shipping costs: EUR 4.61
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
Peony in Love - Lisa See
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Lisa See:
Peony in Love - Paperback

ISBN: 9780747582489

Paperback, [PU: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC], Peony in Love is a powerful and haunting love story steeped in the richness and magic of seventeenth-century China by the bestselling author of Snow Flower and the Secret Fan., Contemporary Fiction

New book Bookdepository.com
Shipping costs:Versandkostenfrei (EUR 0.00)
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
Peony in Love - Lisa See
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Lisa See:
Peony in Love - Paperback

2007, ISBN: 9780747582489

ID: 899905610

Bloomsbury Publishing PLC. Paperback. Used; Good. 10/01/2007, Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Used Book Biblio.com
Brit Books Ltd
Shipping costs: EUR 4.69
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.

< to search results...
Details of the book
Peony in Love
Author:

See, Lisa

Title:

Peony in Love

ISBN:

9780747582489

From the author of "Snow Flower & The Secret Fan", this is a powerful and haunting love story steeped in the richness and magic of 17th century China. Following Peony, who's lived a cloistered life among women, and who's betrothed to man she's never met, it incorporates the themes of love, desire and sorrow. For fans of "Memoirs Of A Geisha", "Wild Swans" and "Empress Orchid".

Details of the book - Peony in Love


EAN (ISBN-13): 9780747582489
ISBN (ISBN-10): 0747582483
Hardcover
Paperback
Publishing year: 2007
Publisher: BLOOMSBURY PUBLISHING
Weight: 0,407 kg
Language: eng/Englisch

Book in our database since 11.04.2007 10:34:52
Book found last time on 16.01.2017 11:07:14
ISBN/EAN: 9780747582489

ISBN - alternate spelling:
0-7475-8248-3, 978-0-7475-8248-9

< to search results...
< to archive...
Related books