. .
English
United States
Similar books
Search tools
Sign in
Share this book on...
Book recommendations
Latest news
Tip from find-more-books.com
Advertising
FILTER
- 0 Results
Lowest price: 0.28 €, highest price: 6.90 €, average price: 3.28 €
The Confessions of Max Tivoli - Andrew Sean Greer
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Andrew Sean Greer:

The Confessions of Max Tivoli - Paperback

ISBN: 0571220223

[SR: 155173], Taschenbuch, [EAN: 9780571220229], Faber & Faber, Faber & Faber, Book, [PU: Faber & Faber], Faber & Faber, Out of the womb in 1871, Max Tivoli looked to all the world like a tiny 70-year-old man. But inside the aged body was an infant. Victim of a rare disease, Max grows physically younger as his mind matures. In Andrew Sean Greer's finely crafted novel, The Confessions of Max Tivoli, Max narrates his life story from the vantage point of his late fifties, though his body is that of a 12-year-old boy. He has known since a young age that he is destined to die at 70, and he wears a golden "1941" as a constant reminder of the year he will finally perish in an infant form. His mother, a Carolina belle concerned over her son's troubling appearance, curses Max with "The Rule": "Be what they think you are". Max fails to keep this Rule only a handful of times in his life, but it is the burden of living by it that wounds him and slowly alienates him from the people he loves. Over Max's narration of the preceding decades of his life, he offers outsider's snapshots of San Francisco and all of America across the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Throughout, Greer uses the literary device of reverse aging to interrogate the evolution of social conventions, the finitude of a human life and the decay of memory. Max wants love. But his curse destines him to deception. He loses his wife, Alice, changes his name and remains hidden from his own son to keep his true identity secret. Only his lifelong friend, Hughie, stands by Max and can see the person inside the anachronistic body. Like the best science fiction and myth, the novel uses its central conceit to reveal human prejudice and explode all assumptions of normalcy to profound effect. Love is a destructive force in The Confessions of Max Tivoli. But Greer recognises that in the failure of love is also hope. He artfully captures Max's fragile world with a delicacy that never crosses into sentimentality but also avoids the monumental scale of tragedy. As Max says near the end of the novel, "It is a brave and stupid thing, a beautiful thing to waste ones life for love." A journey with Max, while brave and beautiful, is hardly a waste. --Patrick O'Kelley, Amazon.com, 67221011, Action & Abenteuer, 67216011, Populäre Belletristik, 66034011, Belletristik, 54071011, Genres, 52044011, Fremdsprachige Bücher, 68944011, Spannung, 68938011, Thriller, 68333011, Krimis & Thriller, 54071011, Genres, 52044011, Fremdsprachige Bücher, 58017011, Fantasy, 58040011, Alternative Weltgeschichte, 58018011, Anthologien, 58039011, Arthus-Sage, 384001011, Dark Fantasy, 58020011, Epen, 384229011, Feen & Elfen, 58023011, Geschichte & Kritik, 58022011, Historisch, 58024011, Magie & Zauberer, 58026011, Serien, 58019011, Zeitgenössisch, 57127011, Fantasy & Science Fiction, 54071011, Genres, 52044011, Fremdsprachige Bücher

Used Book Amazon.de (Intern...
MEDIMOPS
Gebraucht Shipping costs:Innerhalb EU, Schweiz und Liechtenstein (sofern Lieferung möglich). Versandfertig in 1 - 2 Werktagen (EUR 3.00)
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
The Confessions of Max Tivoli - Andrew Sean Greer
book is out-of-stock
(*)

Andrew Sean Greer:

The Confessions of Max Tivoli - used book

ISBN: 0571220223

ID: 5435760

Out of the womb in 1871, Max Tivoli looked to all the world like a tiny 70-year-old man. But inside the aged body was an infant. Victim of a rare disease, Max grows physically younger as his mind matures. In Andrew Sean Greer's finely crafted novel, The Confessions of Max Tivoli, Max narrates his life story from the vantage point of his late fifties, though his body is that of a 12-year-old boy. He has known since a young age that he is destined to die at 70, and he wears a golden "1941" as a constant reminder of the year he will finally perish in an infant form. His mother, a Carolina belle concerned over her son's troubling appearance, curses Max with "The Rule": "Be what they think you are." Max fails to keep this Rule only a handful of times in his life, but it is the burden of living by it that wounds him and slowly alienates him from the people he loves. Over Max's narration of the preceding decades of his life, he offers outsider's snapshots of San Francisco and all of America across the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Throughout, Greer uses the literary device of reverse aging to interrogate the evolution of social conventions, the finitude of a human life, and the decay of memory. Max wants love. But his curse destines him to deception. He loses his wife, Alice, changes his name, and remains hidden from his own son to keep his true identity secret. Only his lifelong friend, Hughie, stands by Max and can see the person inside the anachronistic body. Li action and adventure,contemporary,fantasy,genre fiction,historical,literary,literature and fiction,mystery thriller and suspense,psychological thrillers,science fiction and fantasy Suspense, Faber & Faber

Used Book Thriftbooks.com
used Shipping costs:zzgl. Versandkosten, plus shipping costs
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
The Confessions of Max Tivoli - Greer, Andrew Sean
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Greer, Andrew Sean:
The Confessions of Max Tivoli - Paperback

ISBN: 9780571220229

[PU: Faber and Faber Ltd.], ACHTUNG: Dieser Artikel hat eine längere Lieferzeit. Lieferbar: 5 Werktage ab Bestellzeitpunkt + Postlaufzeit! Wir garantieren eine schnelle und professionelle Abwicklung Ihrer Bestellungen. Inkl. Rechnung mit Mehrwertsteuer. Leicht beschädigt. Buchrücken abgegriffen. Buchschnitt leicht verschmutzt., [SC: 1.20], deutliche Gebrauchsspuren, gewerbliches Angebot, Taschenbuch, [GW: 196g]

Used Book Booklooker.de
buchmarie.de
Shipping costs:Versand nach Deutschland (EUR 1.20)
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
The Confessions of Max Tivoli
book is out-of-stock
(*)
The Confessions of Max Tivoli - used book

2005, ISBN: 9780571220229

ID: 4ce2a4063914d9babef21d7917ae18dd

Binding:Taschenbuch,Edition:New Ed,Label:Faber & Faber,Publisher:Faber & Faber,NumberOfItems:1,medium:Taschenbuch,numberOfPages:288,publicationDate:2005-04-07,authors:Greer, Andrew Sean,ISBN:0571220223 Taschenbuch, Faber & Faber

Used Book Medimops.de
Nr. M00571220223 Shipping costs:, 3, DE. (EUR 1.00)
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
The confessions of Max Tivoli. - Greer, Andrew Sean
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Greer, Andrew Sean:
The confessions of Max Tivoli. - used book

ISBN: 0571220223

ID: 28434

267 S. Obroschur. Sehr gut Schnitt vergilbt, Sprache: Englisch. Versand D: 2,50 EUR, [PU: Faber]

Used Book Buchfreund.de
Pandora Antiquariat & Versandbuchhandlung, 48356 Nordwalde
Shipping costs:Versandkosten innerhalb der BRD (EUR 2.50)
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.

< to search results...
Details of the book
The Confessions of Max Tivoli
Author:

Greer, Andrew Sean

Title:

The Confessions of Max Tivoli

ISBN:

9780571220229

Strange and moving novel about a boy who begins life with the physical appearance of an old, dying creature but gradually grows younger with age. Set against the backdrop of San Francisco at the turn of the 20th century, this will appeal to fans of "The Lovely Bones" and "The Time Traveller's Wife". A perfect reading group book with broad appeal across literary and commercial readerships. "A brilliant story about the simplest of brief encounters, the encounter with life" "The Times"

Details of the book - The Confessions of Max Tivoli


EAN (ISBN-13): 9780571220229
ISBN (ISBN-10): 0571220223
Paperback
Publishing year: 2005
Publisher: Faber And Faber Ltd.
267 Pages
Weight: 0,210 kg
Language: eng/Englisch

Book in our database since 05.06.2007 01:06:55
Book found last time on 05.03.2017 22:03:36
ISBN/EAN: 9780571220229

ISBN - alternate spelling:
0-571-22022-3, 978-0-571-22022-9

< to search results...
< to archive...
Related books