. .
English
United States
Similar books
Search tools
Sign in
Share this book on...
Book recommendations
Latest news
Tip from find-more-books.com
Advertising
FILTER
- 0 Results
Lowest price: 1.31 €, highest price: 11.13 €, average price: 4.37 €
Big Stone Gap: A Novel (Ballantine Reader's Circle) - Adriana Trigiani
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Adriana Trigiani:

Big Stone Gap: A Novel (Ballantine Reader's Circle) - used book

ISBN: 0345438329

ID: 2365725

In the town of Big Stone Gap, Virginia, not much happens. The highlight of 35-year-old Ave Maria Mulligan's week comes on Friday, with the arrival of the Bookmobile, the sight of which sends her into raptures. Her favorite book concerns the ancient Chinese art of reading faces. Through her face-readings, we come to understand the hostilities simmering within her family: her father whose small eyes are the clear "sign of a deceptive nature." Her aunt who "has a small head and thin lips. (That's a terrible combination.)" Adriana Trigiani's first novel concerns the family scandals that befall Ave Maria in this seemingly uneventful town. Greed, lust, envy--all the ancient emotional elements--manifest themselves even in this hamlet of "ordinary folk." Fans of Fannie Flagg or Rebecca Wells will enjoy this down-home tale, full of small, everyday details and colloquial revelations. The writing is often awkward, but so too are the characters who inhabit this place: the Bookmobile lady who thinks of herself as the sexiest woman alive; the amateur actors in the local Outdoor Drama who bristle with ambition when they hear that Elizabeth Taylor is coming to visit. In Big Stone Gap, her visit is so anticipated, it's like she's an angel sent from heaven. --Ellen Williams contemporary,fiction,humor,literature and fiction,romance,single women,women's fiction Romance, Ballantine Books

Used Book Thriftbooks.com
used Shipping costs:zzgl. Versandkosten, plus shipping costs
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
Big Stone Gap: A Novel (Ballantine Reader's Circle) - Adriana Trigiani
book is out-of-stock
(*)

Adriana Trigiani:

Big Stone Gap: A Novel (Ballantine Reader's Circle) - used book

ISBN: 0345438329

ID: 2365725

In the town of Big Stone Gap, Virginia, not much happens. The highlight of 35-year-old Ave Maria Mulligan's week comes on Friday, with the arrival of the Bookmobile, the sight of which sends her into raptures. Her favorite book concerns the ancient Chinese art of reading faces. Through her face-readings, we come to understand the hostilities simmering within her family: her father whose small eyes are the clear "sign of a deceptive nature." Her aunt who "has a small head and thin lips. (That's a terrible combination.)" Adriana Trigiani's first novel concerns the family scandals that befall Ave Maria in this seemingly uneventful town. Greed, lust, envy--all the ancient emotional elements--manifest themselves even in this hamlet of "ordinary folk." Fans of Fannie Flagg or Rebecca Wells will enjoy this down-home tale, full of small, everyday details and colloquial revelations. The writing is often awkward, but so too are the characters who inhabit this place: the Bookmobile lady who thinks of herself as the sexiest woman alive; the amateur actors in the local Outdoor Drama who bristle with ambition when they hear that Elizabeth Taylor is coming to visit. In Big Stone Gap, her visit is so anticipated, it's like she's an angel sent from heaven. --Ellen Williams contemporary,humor,literature and fiction,romance,single women,women's fiction Romance, Ballantine Books

Used Book Thriftbooks.com
used Shipping costs:zzgl. Versandkosten, plus shipping costs
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
Big Stone Gap: A Novel (Big Stone Gap Novels)
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Big Stone Gap: A Novel (Big Stone Gap Novels) - used book

1978

ISBN: 9780345438324

ID: c0cecd83e491ce021452c2d52f1acc0a

Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia, the tiny town of Big Stone Gap is home to some of the most charming eccentrics in the state. Ave Maria Mulligan is the town's self-proclaimed spinster, a thirty-five year old pharmacist with a mountain girl's body and a flat behind. She lives an amiable life with good friends and lots of hobbies until the fateful day in 1978 when she suddenly discovers that she's not who she always thought she was. Before she can blink, Ave's fielding marriage proposals, figh Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia, the tiny town of Big Stone Gap is home to some of the most charming eccentrics in the state. Ave Maria Mulligan is the town's self-proclaimed spinster, a thirty-five year old pharmacist with a mountain girl's body and a flat behind. She lives an amiable life with good friends and lots of hobbies until the fateful day in 1978 when she suddenly discovers that she's not who she always thought she was. Before she can blink, Ave's fielding marriage proposals, fighting off greedy family members, organizing a celebration for visiting celebrities, and planning the trip of a lifetime--a trip that could change her view of the world and her own place in it forever. Brimming with humor and wise notions of small-town life, Big Stone Gap is a gem of a book with a giant heart. . . ., [PU: Ballantine Books]

Used Book Medimops.de
Nr. M00345438329 Shipping costs:, 3, zzgl. Versandkosten, plus shipping costs
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
Big Stone Gap: A Novel (Big Stone Gap Novels) [Paperback] by Trigiani, Adriana - Trigiani, Adriana
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Trigiani, Adriana:
Big Stone Gap: A Novel (Big Stone Gap Novels) [Paperback] by Trigiani, Adriana - Paperback

2001, ISBN: 9780345438324

ID: 44421312

Ballantine Books, 2001-04-03. Paperback. Good. Publisher: Ballantine Books<br>Date of Publication: 2001<br>Binding: trade paperback<br>Edition: <br>Condition: Good+<br>Description: 0345438329 Light shelfwear.<br>, Ballantine Books, 2001-04-03

Used Book Biblio.com
Court Ave. Books
Shipping costs: EUR 22.47
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
Big Stone Gap - Adriana Trigiani
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Adriana Trigiani:
Big Stone Gap - Paperback

ISBN: 9780345438324

Paperback, [PU: Random House USA Inc], The warm and very funny story of a small town is told by Ave Maria Mulligan, a 35-year-old self-proclaimed spinster, whose comfortable routine is about to be disrupted forever. "Funny, charming, and original".--Fannie Flagg., Contemporary Fiction

New book Bookdepository.com
Shipping costs:Free shipping (EUR 0.00)
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.

< to search results...
Details of the book
Big Stone Gap
Author:

Trigiani, Adriana

Title:

Big Stone Gap

ISBN:

9780345438324

Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia, the tiny town of Big Stone Gap is home to some of the most charming eccentrics in the state. Ave Maria Mulligan is the town's self-proclaimed spinster, a thirty-five year old pharmacist with a "mountain girl's body and a flat behind." She lives an amiable life with good friends and lots of hobbies until the fateful day in 1978 when she suddenly discovers that she's not who she always thought she was. Before she can blink, Ave's fielding marriage proposals, fighting off greedy family members, organizing a celebration for visiting celebrities, and planning the trip of a lifetime--a trip that could change her view of the world and her own place in it forever. Brimming with humor and wise notions of small-town life, Big Stone Gap is a gem of a book with a giant heart. . . .

Details of the book - Big Stone Gap


EAN (ISBN-13): 9780345438324
ISBN (ISBN-10): 0345438329
Paperback
Publishing year: 2001
Publisher: BALLANTINE BOOKS
304 Pages
Weight: 0,231 kg
Language: eng/Englisch

Book in our database since 22.03.2007 12:42:54
Book found last time on 02.03.2017 14:22:29
ISBN/EAN: 9780345438324

ISBN - alternate spelling:
0-345-43832-9, 978-0-345-43832-4

< to search results...
< to archive...
Related books