- 0 Results
Lowest price: € 17.95, highest price: € 49.96, average price: € 30.55
1
Karma Of Brown Folk - Prashad, Vijay
Order
at amazon.de
€ 42.72
Shipment: € 3.00
Order
Prashad, Vijay:

Karma Of Brown Folk - hardcover

2000, ISBN: 9780816634385

University of Minnesota Press, Gebundene Ausgabe, Auflage: Illustrated, 272 Seiten, Publiziert: 2000-03-01T00:00:01Z, Produktgruppe: Book, 1.08 kg, Soziologie, Sozialwissenschaft, Kategor… More...

Shipping costs:Auf Lager. Die angegebenen Versandkosten können von den tatsächlichen Kosten abweichen. (EUR 3.00)

WYEMART
2
Order
at Biblio.co.uk
$ 21.37
(aprox. € 17.95)
Shipment: € 16.80
Order

Prashad, Vijay:

Karma of Brown Folk - used book

ISBN: 9780816634385

University of Minnesota Press. Used - Good. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside., University of Minnesota Press, 2.5

Shipping costs: EUR 16.80

Better World Books
3
The Karma of Brown Folk - Prashad, Vijay
Order
at BetterWorldBooks.com
€ 19.64
Order
Prashad, Vijay:
The Karma of Brown Folk - used book

2000

ISBN: 9780816634385

Hardcover book. 272 pages. Published by University of Minnesota Press (2000) Media > Book, [PU: University of Minnesota Press]

used in stock. Shipping costs:zzgl. Versandkosten., plus shipping costs

Paid advertisement
4
Order
at Biblio.co.uk
$ 26.79
(aprox. € 22.50)
Shipment: € 10.92
Order
Contributor-Vijay Prashad:
The Karma of Brown Folk - hardcover

2000, ISBN: 9780816634385

Univ Of Minnesota Press, 2000-02-10. Hardcover. Good., Univ Of Minnesota Press, 2000-02-10, 2.5

Shipping costs: EUR 10.92

Ergodebooks
5
Order
at Biblio.co.uk
$ 59.53
(aprox. € 49.96)
Shipment: € 10.91
Order
Contributor-Vijay Prashad:
The Karma of Brown Folk - hardcover

2000, ISBN: 9780816634385

Univ Of Minnesota Press, 2000-02-10. Hardcover. Good., Univ Of Minnesota Press, 2000-02-10

Shipping costs: EUR 10.91

Ergodebooks

Details of the book
Karma Of Brown Folk

On a vast canvas, The Karma of Brown Folk attacks the two pillars of the "model minority" image, that South Asians are both inherently successful and pliant, and analyzes the ways in which U.S. immigration policy and American Orientalism have perpetuated these stereotypes. Prashad uses irony, humor, razor-sharp criticism, personal reflections, and historical research to challenge the arguments made by Dinesh D'Souza, who heralds South Asian success in the U.S., and to question the quiet accommodation to racism made by many South Asians. A look at Deepak Chopra and others whom Prashad terms "Godmen" shows us how some South Asians exploit the stereotype of inherent spirituality, much to the chagrin of other South Asians. Following the long engagement of American culture with South Asia, Prashad traces India's effect on thinkers like Cotton Mather and Henry David Thoreau, Ravi Shankar's influence on John Coltrane, and such essential issues as race versus caste and the connection between antiracism activism and anticolonial resistance.The Karma of Brown Folk locates the birth of the "model minority" myth, placing it firmly in the context of reaction to the struggle for Black Liberation. Prashad reclaims the long history of black and South Asian solidarity, discussing joint struggles in the U.S., the Caribbean, South Africa, and elsewhere, and exposes how these powerful moments of alliance faded from historical memory and were replaced by Indian support for antiblack racism. Ultimately, Prashad writes not just about South Asians in America but about America itself, in the tradition of Tocqueville, Du Bois, Richard Wright, and others. He explores the place of collective struggle andmultiracial alliances in the transformation of self and community -- in short, how Americans define themselves.

Details of the book - Karma Of Brown Folk


EAN (ISBN-13): 9780816634385
ISBN (ISBN-10): 0816634386
Hardcover
Publishing year: 2000
Publisher: University of Minnesota Press
272 Pages
Weight: 0,490 kg
Language: eng/Englisch

Book in our database since 2008-03-09T06:40:46-04:00 (New York)
Detail page last modified on 2021-03-18T18:44:02-04:00 (New York)
ISBN/EAN: 0816634386

ISBN - alternate spelling:
0-8166-3438-6, 978-0-8166-3438-5


< to archive...