Sign in
Tip from find-more-books.com
Similar books
More/other books that might be very similar to this book
Search tools
Book recommendations
Latest news
Advertising
- 0 Results
Lowest price: € 4.57, highest price: € 33.96, average price: € 12.28
Turning Points in Modern Times: Essays on German and European History - Karl Bracher, Abbott Gleason, Thomas Dunlap
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Karl Bracher, Abbott Gleason, Thomas Dunlap:
Turning Points in Modern Times: Essays on German and European History - Paperback

ISBN: 067491354X

[SR: 3015323], Paperback, [EAN: 9780674913547], Harvard University Press, Harvard University Press, Book, [PU: Harvard University Press], Harvard University Press, Turning Points in Modern Times focuses on events after 1917: the rise of Nazism on the Right and authoritarianism on the Left. Bracher provides an incisive framework for understanding the great ideological confrontation of this century--democracy versus totalitarianism in the forms of fascism, Nazism, and communism. His analysis of the outcomes underscores the significance and power of democratic values and governments. The doyen of German political history, Karl Dietrich Bracher extends the argument against dictatorship that runs through his life's work, offers a blueprint for dealing with the recent past of the communist East German State (DDR), looks at the true facts of the Stasi collaboration, and challenges misperceptions of Hitler, Stalin, and others. He demonstrates the kinship between fascism and communism, considers Weimar and liberalism, assesses the legacy of Nazism, and outlines the ethos of democracy. In all this Bracher exposes the twentieth-century threats to the democratic state so that they can never again subvert representative government. A founder of the new history of Germany, which considers the larger context for Hitler and illuminates events through the theories of social science and the values of liberalism and democracy, Bracher writes in the tradition of Acton, Burckhardt, Croce, and Dahrendorf. This is a vital history lesson for our turbulent times, when once more democracy is on the march after a twilight century. , 4954, Germany, 4935, Europe, 9, History, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 197501011, Essays, 4987, Historical Study & Educational Resources, 9, History, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 5035, World, 15812171, Civilization & Culture, 3825131, Expeditions & Discoveries, 4992, Jewish, 11764653011, Maritime History & Piracy, 6343224011, Religious, 16244141, Slavery & Emancipation, 15812211, Women in History, 9, History, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 16022621, Political Science, 5571274011, Comparative Politics, 10759, Constitutions, 11086, History & Theory, 11111, Reference, 5571255011, Politics & Government, 3377866011, Politics & Social Sciences, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books

Used or antiquarian book Amazon.com
Seattlegoodwill
Gebraucht. Shipping costs:Usually ships in 1-2 business days., plus shipping costs
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
Turning Points in Modern Times: Essays on German and European History - Karl Dietrich Bracher
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Karl Dietrich Bracher:
Turning Points in Modern Times: Essays on German and European History - Paperback

ISBN: 067491354X

[SR: 345846], Paperback, [EAN: 9780674913547], Harvard University Press, Harvard University Press, Book, [PU: Harvard University Press], 1995-04-05, Harvard University Press, 882480, Germany, 271480, Europe, 65, History, 1025612, Subjects, 266239, Books, 771718, World History, 12447629031, Civilisation & Culture, 12447630031, Cold War, 278066, Discovery & Exploration, 772016, Maritime History & Piracy, 275899, Revolutions & Coups, 772066, Slavery, 276593, Women in History, 65, History, 1025612, Subjects, 266239, Books, 771724, Essays, Journals, Letters & True Accounts, 12447619031, Historical Study & Educational Resources, 65, History, 1025612, Subjects, 266239, Books, 275903, Communism & Marxism, 275901, Political Science & Ideology, 275870, Government & Politics, 60, Society, Politics & Philosophy, 1025612, Subjects, 266239, Books, 275918, Democracy, 275901, Political Science & Ideology, 275870, Government & Politics, 60, Society, Politics & Philosophy, 1025612, Subjects, 266239, Books, 275905, Fascism & Nazism, 771710, History, 275914, Political Science, 275901, Political Science & Ideology, 275870, Government & Politics, 60, Society, Politics & Philosophy, 1025612, Subjects, 266239, Books

Used or antiquarian book Amazon.co.uk
betterworldbooksltd
Gebraucht. Shipping costs:Europa Zone 1: GBP 5,48 pro Produkt.. Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days. Die angegebenen Versandkosten können von den tatsächlichen Kosten abweichen. (EUR 4.80)
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
Turning Points in Modern Times: Essays on German and European History - Karl Dietrich Bracher
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Karl Dietrich Bracher:
Turning Points in Modern Times: Essays on German and European History - Paperback

ISBN: 067491354X

[SR: 345846], Paperback, [EAN: 9780674913547], Harvard University Press, Harvard University Press, Book, [PU: Harvard University Press], 1995-04-05, Harvard University Press, 882480, Germany, 271480, Europe, 65, History, 1025612, Subjects, 266239, Books, 771718, World History, 12447629031, Civilisation & Culture, 12447630031, Cold War, 278066, Discovery & Exploration, 772016, Maritime History & Piracy, 275899, Revolutions & Coups, 772066, Slavery, 276593, Women in History, 65, History, 1025612, Subjects, 266239, Books, 771724, Essays, Journals, Letters & True Accounts, 12447619031, Historical Study & Educational Resources, 65, History, 1025612, Subjects, 266239, Books, 275903, Communism & Marxism, 275901, Political Science & Ideology, 275870, Government & Politics, 60, Society, Politics & Philosophy, 1025612, Subjects, 266239, Books, 275918, Democracy, 275901, Political Science & Ideology, 275870, Government & Politics, 60, Society, Politics & Philosophy, 1025612, Subjects, 266239, Books, 275905, Fascism & Nazism, 771710, History, 275914, Political Science, 275901, Political Science & Ideology, 275870, Government & Politics, 60, Society, Politics & Philosophy, 1025612, Subjects, 266239, Books

New book Amazon.co.uk
Amazon.co.uk
Neuware. Shipping costs:Europa Zone 1: GBP 5,48 pro Produkt.. Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your credit card will not be charged until we ship the item. (EUR 4.99)
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
Turning Points in Modern Times  Essays on German and European History - Bracher, Karl Dietrich
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Bracher, Karl Dietrich:
Turning Points in Modern Times Essays on German and European History - Paperback

1995, ISBN: 9780674913547

ID: 1011900050

Usa: Harvard University Press. Very Good. 1995. Paperback. 067491354x . Good to very good in paperback-clean copy -no markings ; 9.20 X 6.12 X 0.86 inches; 352 pages ., Harvard University Press, 1995

Used or antiquarian book Biblio.com
Ryans Books
Shipping costs: EUR 5.24
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
Turning Points in Modern Times: Essays on German and European History - Karl D. Bracher
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Karl D. Bracher:
Turning Points in Modern Times: Essays on German and European History - used book

ISBN: 9780674913547

ID: 1949442918_us

Livre, [PU: Harvard University Press]

Used or antiquarian book Priceminister.com
Priceminister
Shipping costs:France. (EUR 4.79)
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.

Details of the book
Turning Points in Modern Times: Essays on German and European History

This collection of essays focuses on events after 1917: the rise of Nazism on the Right and authoritarianism on the Left. The doyen of German political history, Karl Bracher provides an incisive framework for understanding the great ideological confrontation of this century--democracy versus totalitarianism in the forms of fascism, Nazism, and communism.

Details of the book - Turning Points in Modern Times: Essays on German and European History


EAN (ISBN-13): 9780674913547
ISBN (ISBN-10): 067491354X
Paperback
Publishing year: 1995
Publisher: HARVARD UNIV PR
352 Pages
Weight: 0,463 kg
Language: eng/Englisch

Book in our database since 27.04.2007 12:46:42
Book found last time on 12.06.2018 14:00:05
ISBN/EAN: 067491354X

ISBN - alternate spelling:
0-674-91354-X, 978-0-674-91354-7


< to archive...
Related books