Sign in
Tip from find-more-books.com
Similar books
More/other books that might be very similar to this book
Search tools
Book recommendations
Latest news
Advertising
Paid advertisement
- 0 Results
Lowest price: € 11.20, highest price: € 43.49, average price: € 27.86
...
Surprised by Sin: The Reader in Paradise Lost, 2nd Edition - Stanley Fish
(*)
Stanley Fish:
Surprised by Sin: The Reader in Paradise Lost, 2nd Edition - Paperback

ISBN: 9780674857476

[SR: 1212361], Paperback, [EAN: 9780674857476], Harvard University Press, Harvard University Press, Book, [PU: Harvard University Press], 1998-02-13, Harvard University Press, In 1967 the world of Milton studies was divided into two armed camps: one proclaiming (in the tradition of Blake and Shelley) that Milton was of the devil's party with or without knowing it, the other proclaiming (in the tradition of Addison and C. S. Lewis) that the poet's sympathies are obviously with God and the angels loyal to him. The achievement of Stanley Fish's Surprised by Sin was to reconcile the two camps by subsuming their claims in a single overarching thesis: Paradise Lost is a poem about how its readers came to be the way they are--that is, fallen--and the poem's lesson is proven on a reader's impulse every time he or she finds a devilish action attractive or a godly action dismaying. Fish's argument reshaped the face of Milton studies; thirty years later the issues raised in Surprised by Sin continue to set the agenda and drive debate., 12348, Poetry, 172806, Literature & Fiction, 12290, Christian Books & Bibles, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 10207, Criticism & Theory, 10204, History & Criticism, 17, Literature & Fiction, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 10159341011, Poetry, 10159334011, Genres & Styles, 10204, History & Criticism, 17, Literature & Fiction, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 10159388011, European, 10096, British & Irish, 10255, French, 10262, German, 3559094011, Italian, 10279, Norse & Icelandic Sagas, 10296, Spanish, 10159384011, Regional & Cultural, 10248, Poetry, 17, Literature & Fiction, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 10254, Epic, 10159396011, Themes & Styles, 10248, Poetry, 17, Literature & Fiction, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 491408, English Literature, 468236, Literature, 468206, Humanities, 465600, New, Used & Rental Textbooks, 2349030011, Specialty Boutique, 283155, Books

 amazon.com
Book Dispensary
Sammlerstück. Shipping costs:Usually ships in 1-2 business days., plus shipping costs
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
Surprised by Sin: The Reader in Paradise Lost, 2nd Edition - Stanley Fish
(*)
Stanley Fish:
Surprised by Sin: The Reader in Paradise Lost, 2nd Edition - Paperback

ISBN: 9780674857476

[SR: 1215987], Paperback, [EAN: 9780674857476], Harvard University Press, Harvard University Press, Book, [PU: Harvard University Press], 1998-02-13, Harvard University Press, In 1967 the world of Milton studies was divided into two armed camps: one proclaiming (in the tradition of Blake and Shelley) that Milton was of the devil's party with or without knowing it, the other proclaiming (in the tradition of Addison and C. S. Lewis) that the poet's sympathies are obviously with God and the angels loyal to him. The achievement of Stanley Fish's Surprised by Sin was to reconcile the two camps by subsuming their claims in a single overarching thesis: Paradise Lost is a poem about how its readers came to be the way they are--that is, fallen--and the poem's lesson is proven on a reader's impulse every time he or she finds a devilish action attractive or a godly action dismaying. Fish's argument reshaped the face of Milton studies; thirty years later the issues raised in Surprised by Sin continue to set the agenda and drive debate., 12348, Poetry, 172806, Literature & Fiction, 12290, Christian Books & Bibles, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 10207, Criticism & Theory, 10204, History & Criticism, 17, Literature & Fiction, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 10159341011, Poetry, 10159334011, Genres & Styles, 10204, History & Criticism, 17, Literature & Fiction, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 10159388011, European, 10096, British & Irish, 10255, French, 10262, German, 3559094011, Italian, 10279, Norse & Icelandic Sagas, 10296, Spanish, 10159384011, Regional & Cultural, 10248, Poetry, 17, Literature & Fiction, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 10254, Epic, 10159396011, Themes & Styles, 10248, Poetry, 17, Literature & Fiction, 1000, Subjects, 283155, Books, 491408, English Literature, 468236, Literature, 468206, Humanities, 465600, New, Used & Rental Textbooks, 2349030011, Specialty Boutique, 283155, Books

 amazon.com
Ink Paper Glue
Gebraucht. Shipping costs:Usually ships in 1-2 business days., plus shipping costs
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
Surprised by Sin : The Reader in Paradise Lost - Stanley Eugene Fish
(*)
Stanley Eugene Fish:
Surprised by Sin : The Reader in Paradise Lost - used book

ISBN: 067485747X

ID: 5329965

In 1967 the world of Milton studies was divided into two armed camps: one proclaiming (in the tradition of Blake and Shelley) that Milton was of the devil's party with or without knowing it, the other proclaiming (in the tradition of Addison and C. S. Lewis) that the poet's sympathies are obviously with God and the angels loyal to him. The achievement of Stanley Fish's "Surprised by Sin" was to reconcile the two camps by subsuming their claims in a single overarching thesis: "Paradise Lost" is a poem about how its readers came to be the way they are--that is, fallen--and the poem's lesson is proven on a reader's impulse every time he or she finds a devilish action attractive or a godly action dismaying. Fish's argument reshaped the face of Milton studies; thirty years later the issues raised in "Surprised by Sin" continue to set the agenda and drive debate. 17th century,christian books and bibles,criticism and theory,english literature,fantasy epics,europe,history,history and criticism,humanities,literary criticism Fantasy Epics, Harvard University Press

 Thriftbooks.com
used. Shipping costs:zzgl. Versandkosten., plus shipping costs
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
Surprised by Sin: The Reader in Paradise Lost - Stanley Fish
(*)
Stanley Fish:
Surprised by Sin: The Reader in Paradise Lost - Paperback

ISBN: 9780674857476

[SR: 745336], Paperback, [EAN: 9780674857476], Harvard University Press, Harvard University Press, Book, [PU: Harvard University Press], 1998-03-15, Harvard University Press, The Reader in Paradise Lost, With a New Preface by the Author, Second Edition, 275096, Literary Theory & Movements, 275068, History & Criticism, 275389, Poetry, Drama & Criticism, 1025612, Subjects, 266239, Books, 275110, Poetry & Poets, 275068, History & Criticism, 275389, Poetry, Drama & Criticism, 1025612, Subjects, 266239, Books, 591438, Epics, 591428, Genres, 275117, Poetry, 275389, Poetry, Drama & Criticism, 1025612, Subjects, 266239, Books, 591444, Italian, 591430, World, 275117, Poetry, 275389, Poetry, Drama & Criticism, 1025612, Subjects, 266239, Books, 277299, Poetry, 277266, Christianity, 58, Religion & Spirituality, 1025612, Subjects, 266239, Books, 772028, History, 277266, Christianity, 58, Religion & Spirituality, 1025612, Subjects, 266239, Books

 amazon.co.uk
UKPaperbackshop
Neuware. Shipping costs:Europa Zone 1: GBP 5,48 pro Produkt.. Usually dispatched within 2-3 business days. Die angegebenen Versandkosten können von den tatsächlichen Kosten abweichen. (EUR 4.80)
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
Surprised by Sin: The Reader in Paradise Lost, Second Edition - Fish, Stanley
(*)
Fish, Stanley:
Surprised by Sin: The Reader in Paradise Lost, Second Edition - used book

ISBN: 9780674857476

ID: 9780674857476

In 1967 the world of Milton studies was divided into two armed camps: one proclaiming (in the tradition of Blake and Shelley) that Milton was of the devil's party with or without knowing it, the other proclaiming (in the tradition of Addison and C. S. Lewis) that the poet's sympathies are obviously with God and the angels loyal to him. The achievement of Stanley Fish's "Surprised by Sin" was to reconcile the two camps by subsuming their claims in a single overarching thesis: "Paradise Lost" is a poem about how its readers came to be the way they are--that is, fallen--and the poem's lesson is proven on a reader's impulse every time he or she finds a devilish action attractive or a godly action dismaying. Fish's argument reshaped the face of Milton studies; thirty years later the issues raised in "Surprised by Sin" continue to set the agenda and drive debate. Media > Book, [PU: Harvard University Press]

BetterWorldBooks.com
used in stock. Shipping costs:zzgl. Versandkosten., plus shipping costs
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.

Details of the book
Surprised by Sin: The Reader in Paradise Lost, Second Edition, with a New Preface by the Author

In 1967 the world of Milton studies was divided into two armed camps: one proclaiming (in the tradition of Blake and Shelley) that Milton was of the devil's party with or without knowing it, the other proclaiming (in the tradition of Addison and C. S. Lewis) that the poet's sympathies are obviously with God and the angels loyal to him. The achievement of Stanley Fish's "Surprised by Sin" was to reconcile the two camps by subsuming their claims in a single overarching thesis: "Paradise Lost" is a poem about how its readers came to be the way they are--that is, fallen--and the poem's lesson is proven on a reader's impulse every time he or she finds a devilish action attractive or a godly action dismaying. Fish's argument reshaped the face of Milton studies; thirty years later the issues raised in "Surprised by Sin" continue to set the agenda and drive debate.

Details of the book - Surprised by Sin: The Reader in Paradise Lost, Second Edition, with a New Preface by the Author


EAN (ISBN-13): 9780674857476
ISBN (ISBN-10): 067485747X
Paperback
Publishing year: 1998
Publisher: HARVARD UNIV PR
440 Pages
Weight: 0,508 kg
Language: eng/Englisch

Book in our database since 2007-06-04T02:52:10-04:00 (New York)
Detail page last modified on 2019-07-03T21:16:58-04:00 (New York)
ISBN/EAN: 067485747X

ISBN - alternate spelling:
0-674-85747-X, 978-0-674-85747-6


< to archive...
Related books