. .
English
United States
Similar books
More/other books that might be very similar to this book
Search tools
Sign in
Share this book on...
Book recommendations
Latest news
Tip from find-more-books.com
Advertising
Paid advertisement
FILTER
- 0 Results
Lowest price: 3.22 €, highest price: 9.75 €, average price: 5.03 €
The Calligrapher's Daughter: A Novel - Eugenia Kim
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Eugenia Kim:

The Calligrapher's Daughter: A Novel - hardcover

2009, ISBN: 9780805089127

ID: 313496961

Henry Holt and Co, 2009-08-04. Deckle Edge Edition. Hardcover. Brand New. 9.50 in l x 6.20 in w x 1.40 in h. . Brand new. Never read or owned. May have a remainder mark. 120 'A sweeping debut novel, inspired by the life of the authoraoEUR(TM)s mother, about a young woman who dares to fight for a brighter future in occupied Korea In early-twentieth-century Korea, Najin Han, the privileged daughter of a calligrapher, longs to choose her own destiny. Smart and headstrong, she is encouraged by her mother -- but her stern father is determined to maintain tradition, especially as the Japanese steadily gain control of his beloved country. When he seeks to marry Najin into an aristocratic family, her mother defies generations of obedient wives and instead sends her to serve in the kingaoEUR(TM)s court as a companion to a young princess. But the king is soon assassinated, and the centuries-old dynastic culture comes to its end. In the shadow of the dying monarchy, Najin begins a journey through increasing oppression that will forever change her world. As she desperately seeks to continue her education, will the unexpected love she finds along the way be enough to sustain her through the violence and subjugation her country continues to face? Spanning thirty years, The CalligrapheraoEUR(TM)s Daughter is a richly drawn novel in the tradition of Lisa See and Amy Tan about a country torn between ancient customs and modern possibilities, a family ultimately united by love, and a woman who never gives up her search for freedom. -- Product Description'. ., Henry Holt and Co, 2009-08-04

Used Book Biblio.com
Books and More by the Rowe
Shipping costs: EUR 14.50
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
The Calligrapher's Daughter: A Novel - Eugenia Kim
book is out-of-stock
(*)

Eugenia Kim:

The Calligrapher's Daughter: A Novel - used book

ISBN: 0805089128

ID: 5050527

A sweeping debut novel, inspired by the life of the author's mother, about a young woman who dares to fight for a brighter future in occupied KoreaIn early-twentieth-century Korea, Najin Han, the privileged daughter of a calligrapher, longs to choose her own destiny. Smart and headstrong, she is encouraged by her mother-but her stern father is determined to maintain tradition, especially as the Japanese steadily gain control of his beloved country. When he seeks to marry Najin into an aristocratic family, her mother defies generations of obedient wives and instead sends her to serve in the king's court as a companion to a young princess. But the king is soon assassinated, and the centuries-old dynastic culture comes to its end.In the shadow of the dying monarchy, Najin begins a journey through increasing oppression that will forever change her world. As she desperately seeks to continue her education, will the unexpected love she finds along the way be enough to sustain her through the violence and subjugation her country continues to face? Spanning thirty years, The Calligrapher's Daughter is a richly drawn novel in the tradition of Lisa See and Amy Tan about a country torn between ancient customs and modern possibilities, a family ultimately united by love, and a woman who never gives up her search for freedom.? contemporary,genre fiction,historical,literary,literature and fiction Literature & Fiction, Henry Holt and Co.

Used Book Thriftbooks.com
used Shipping costs:zzgl. Versandkosten, plus shipping costs
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
The Calligrapher's Daughter - Kim, Eugenia
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Kim, Eugenia:
The Calligrapher's Daughter - used book

ISBN: 9780805089127

ID: 3290197

A sweeping debut novel, inspired by the life of the author's mother, about a young woman who dares to fight for a brighter future in occupied Korea In early-twentieth-century Korea, Najin Han, the privileged daughter of a calligrapher, longs to choose her own destiny. Smart and headstrong, she is encouraged by her mother--but her stern father is determined to maintain tradition, especially as the Japanese steadily gain control of his beloved country. When he seeks to marry Najin into an aristocratic family, her mother defies generations of obedient wives and instead sends her to serve in the king's court as a companion to a young princess. But the king is soon assassinated, and the centuries-old dynastic culture comes to its end. In the shadow of the dying monarchy, Najin begins a journey through increasing oppression that will forever change her world. As she desperately seeks to continue her education, will the unexpected love she finds along the way be enough to sustain her through the violence and subjugation her country continues to face? Spanning thirty years, "The Calligrapher's Daughter" is a richly drawn novel in the tradition of Lisa See and Amy Tan about a country torn between ancient customs and modern possibilities, a family ultimately united by love, and a woman who never gives up her search for freedom. The Calligrapher's Daughter Kim, Eugenia, Henry Holt & Company

Used Book Betterworldbooks.com
Shipping costs:zzgl. Versandkosten, plus shipping costs
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
The Calligrapher's Daughter - Kim, Eugenia
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Kim, Eugenia:
The Calligrapher's Daughter - new book

ISBN: 9780805089127

A sweeping debut novel, inspired by the life of the author's mother, about a young woman who dares to fight for a brighter future in occupied Korea In early-twentieth-century Korea, Najin Han, the privileged daughter of a calligrapher, longs to choose her own destiny. Smart and headstrong, she is encouraged by her mother--but her stern father is determined to maintain tradition, especially as the Japanese steadily gain control of his beloved country. When he seeks to marry Najin into an aristocratic family, her mother defies generations of obedient wives and instead sends her to serve in the king's court as a companion to a young princess. But the king is soon assassinated, and the centuries-old dynastic culture comes to its end. In the shadow of the dying monarchy, Najin begins a journey through increasing oppression that will forever change her world. As she desperately seeks to continue her education, will the unexpected love she finds along the way be enough to sustain her through the violence and subjugation her country continues to face? Spanning thirty years, "The Calligrapher's Daughter" is a richly drawn novel in the tradition of Lisa See and Amy Tan about a country torn between ancient customs and modern possibilities, a family ultimately united by love, and a woman who never gives up her search for freedom. The Calligrapher's Daughter Kim, Eugenia

New book [USA] Betterworldbooks.com
Shipping costs:plus shipping costs
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
The Calligrapher's Daughter: A Novel - Kim, Eugenia
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Kim, Eugenia:
The Calligrapher's Daughter: A Novel - hardcover

2009, ISBN: 0805089128

ID: 14410806504

[EAN: 9780805089127], [PU: Henry Holt and Co.], This Book is in Good Condition. Clean Copy With Light Amount of Wear. 100% Guaranteed. Summary: "The Calligrapher's Daughterfascinated me, as much for its characters as for its engrossing story of Korea under the Japanese occupation. Najin's father is admirable for exactly the traits that make him difficult, and her apparently passive mother is heroic. I can't stop thinking about them and their honest, brave, and very human daughter."Alice Mattison, author ofNothing is Quite Forgotten in BrooklynandThe Book Borrower"InThe Calligrapher's DaughterEugenia Kim beautifully chronicles both the lost world of a traditional Korea and the lost childhood of her remarkable heroine. A coming-of-age story that resonates with larger significance, the novel movingly depicts the emotional cost of transformation and the love and sacrifice that makes transformation possible.The Calligrapher's Daughteris at once the story of a single life as well as the changing life of a nation and, while the details are fascinatingly exotic, the narrative rings with the hard won truths of profound human experience. It is a note-worthy debut from a writer with great heart and real empathy."Sheridan Hay, author ofThe Secret of Lost Things

Used Book Abebooks.de
Book Deals, Lewiston, NY, U.S.A. [60506629] [Rating: 4 (von 5)]
Shipping costs: EUR 69.00
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.

< to search results...
Details of the book
The Calligrapher's Daughter
Author:

Kim, Eugenia

Title:

The Calligrapher's Daughter

ISBN:

9780805089127

Details of the book - The Calligrapher's Daughter


EAN (ISBN-13): 9780805089127
ISBN (ISBN-10): 0805089128
Hardcover
Publishing year: 2009
Publisher: HENRY HOLT
386 Pages
Weight: 0,662 kg
Language: eng/Englisch

Book in our database since 24.08.2009 15:28:58
Book found last time on 18.11.2016 15:40:21
ISBN/EAN: 9780805089127

ISBN - alternate spelling:
0-8050-8912-8, 978-0-8050-8912-7

< to search results...
< to archive...
Nearby books