. .
English
United States
Similar books
Search tools
Sign in
Share this book on...
Book recommendations
Latest news
Tip from find-more-books.com
Advertising
Paid advertisement
FILTER
- 0 Results
Lowest price: 4.01 €, highest price: 13.56 €, average price: 8.93 €
The Caliph s House: A Year in Casablanca (Paperback) - Tahir Shah
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Tahir Shah:

The Caliph s House: A Year in Casablanca (Paperback) - Paperback

2008, ISBN: 0553383108

ID: 17228773888

[EAN: 9780553383102], Neubuch, [PU: Random House USA Inc, United States], Biography & Autobiography|Literary, Travel|Africa|General, Travel|Essays & Travelogues, Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of A Year in Provence and Under the Tuscan Sun, acclaimed English travel writer Tahir Shah shares a highly entertaining account of making an exotic dream come true. By turns hilarious and harrowing, here is the story of his family s move from the gray skies of London to the sun-drenched city of Casablanca, where Islamic tradition and African folklore converge-and nothing is as easy as it seems. Inspired by the Moroccan vacations of his childhood, Tahir Shah dreamed of making a home in that astonishing country. At age thirty-six he got his chance. Investing what money he and his wife, Rachana, had, Tahir packed up his growing family and bought Dar Khalifa, a crumbling ruin of a mansion by the sea in Casablanca that once belonged to the city s caliph, or spiritual leader. With its lush grounds, cool, secluded courtyards, and relaxed pace, life at Dar Khalifa seems sure to fulfill Tahir s fantasy-until he discovers that in many ways he is farther from home than he imagined. For in Morocco an empty house is thought to attract jinns, invisible spirits unique to the Islamic world. The ardent belief in their presence greatly hampers sleep and renovation plans, but that is just the beginning. From elaborate exorcism rituals involving sacrificial goats to dealing with gangster neighbors intent on stealing their property, the Shahs must cope with a new culture and all that comes with it. Endlessly enthralling, The Caliph s House charts a year in the life of one family who takes a tremendous gamble. As we follow Tahir on his travels throughout the kingdom, from Tangier to Marrakech to the Sahara, we discover a world of fierce contrasts that any true adventurer would be thrilled to call home. From the Hardcover edition.

New book Abebooks.de
The Book Depository US, London, United Kingdom [58762574] [Rating: 5 (von 5)]
NEW BOOK Shipping costs:Versandkostenfrei (EUR 0.00)
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - Shah, Tahir
book is out-of-stock
(*)

Shah, Tahir:

The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - used book

ISBN: 9780553383102

ID: 1970508

In the tradition of "A Year in Provence" and "Under the Tuscan Sun," acclaimed English travel writer Tahir Shah shares a highly entertaining account of making an exotic dream come true. By turns hilarious and harrowing, here is the story of his family's move from the gray skies of London to the sun-drenched city of Casablanca, where Islamic tradition and African folklore converge-and nothing is as easy as it seems.... Inspired by the Moroccan vacations of his childhood, Tahir Shah dreamed of making a home in that astonishing country. At age thirty-six he got his chance. Investing what money he and his wife, Rachana, had, Tahir packed up his growing family and bought Dar Khalifa, a crumbling ruin of a mansion by the sea in Casablanca that once belonged to the city's caliph, or spiritual leader. With its lush grounds, cool, secluded courtyards, and relaxed pace, life at Dar Khalifa seems sure to fulfill Tahir's fantasy-until he discovers that in many ways he is farther from home than he imagined. For in Morocco an empty house is thought to attract jinns, invisible spirits unique to the Islamic world. The ardent belief in their presence greatly hampers sleep and renovation plans, but that is just the beginning. From elaborate exorcism rituals involving sacrificial goats to dealing with gangster neighbors intent on stealing their property, the Shahs must cope with a new culture and all that comes with it. Endlessly enthralling, "The Caliph's House" charts a year in the life of one family who takes a tremendous gamble. As we follow Tahir on his travels throughout the kingdom, from Tangier to Marrakech to the Sahara, we discover a world of fierce contrasts that any true adventurer would be thrilled to call home. "From the Hardcover edition." The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca Shah, Tahir, Bantam Books

Used Book Betterworldbooks.com
Shipping costs:zzgl. Versandkosten, plus shipping costs
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - Tahir Shah
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Tahir Shah:
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - used book

ISBN: 0553383108

ID: 4127811

In the tradition of A Year in Provence and Under the Tuscan Sun, acclaimed English travel writer Tahir Shah shares a highly entertaining account of making an exotic dream come true. By turns hilarious and harrowing, here is the story of his family's move from the gray skies of London to the sun-drenched city of Casablanca, where Islamic tradition and African folklore converge-and nothing is as easy as it seems..Inspired by the Moroccan vacations of his childhood, Tahir Shah dreamed of making a home in that astonishing country. At age thirty-six he got his chance. Investing what money he and his wife, Rachana, had, Tahir packed up his growing family and bought Dar Khalifa, a crumbling ruin of a mansion by the sea in Casablanca that once belonged to the city's caliph, or spiritual leader.With its lush grounds, cool, secluded courtyards, and relaxed pace, life at Dar Khalifa seems sure to fulfill Tahir's fantasy-until he discovers that in many ways he is farther from home than he imagined. For in Morocco an empty house is thought to attract jinns, invisible spirits unique to the Islamic world. The ardent belief in their presence greatly hampers sleep and renovation plans, but that is just the beginning. From elaborate exorcism rituals involving sacrificial goats to dealing with gangster neighbors intent on stealing their property, the Shahs must cope with a new culture and all that comes with it. Endlessly enthralling, The Caliph's House

Used Book Thriftbooks.com
used Shipping costs:zzgl. Versandkosten, plus shipping costs
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - Tahir Shah
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Tahir Shah:
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca - Paperback

2006, ISBN: 0553383108

[SR: 56063], Paperback, [EAN: 9780553383102], Bantam, Bantam, Book, [PU: Bantam], 2006-12-26, Bantam, 953044, Travel, 953006, Writing, 5502350011, Writing, Research & Publishing Guides, 952366, Education & Reference, 927726, Subjects, 916520, Books, 960734, Morocco, 960698, Africa, 960696, Travel, 927726, Subjects, 916520, Books, 961246, Essays & Travelogues, 961242, Reference & Tips, 960696, Travel, 927726, Subjects, 916520, Books, 961274, Travel Writing, 961242, Reference & Tips, 960696, Travel, 927726, Subjects, 916520, Books, 961654, Family Travel, 961522, Specialty Travel, 960696, Travel, 927726, Subjects, 916520, Books

Used Book Amazon.ca
Brit_Books_Xpress
Gebraucht Shipping costs:Usually ships within 1 - 2 business days, plus shipping costs
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca (Paperback) - by Tahir Shah
book is out-of-stock
(*)
by Tahir Shah:
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca (Paperback) - used book

ISBN: 9780553383102

ID: 901175038

Good. Used Good- Used items do not include CD-ROM, ACCESS CODE or companion materials, regardless of what is stated in item title. We ship from multiple locations. Prompt customer service. 01a

Used Book Biblio.com
A Book Cart
Shipping costs: EUR 30.31
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.

< to search results...
Details of the book
The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca
Author:

Shah, Tahir

Title:

The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca

ISBN:

9780553383102

By turns hilarious and harrowing, this work by an acclaimed English travel writer is the story of his family's move from the gray skies of London to the sun-drenched city of Casablanca, where Islamic tradition and African folklore converge--and nothing is as easy as it seems.

Details of the book - The Caliph's House: A Year in Casablanca


EAN (ISBN-13): 9780553383102
ISBN (ISBN-10): 0553383108
Hardcover
Paperback
Publishing year: 2006
Publisher: BANTAM DELL
349 Pages
Weight: 0,404 kg
Language: eng/Englisch

Book in our database since 13.06.2007 00:25:13
Book found last time on 01.01.2017 21:20:01
ISBN/EAN: 9780553383102

ISBN - alternate spelling:
0-553-38310-8, 978-0-553-38310-2

< to search results...
< to archive...
Nearby books