. .
English
United States
Similar books
More/other books that might be very similar to this book
Search tools
Sign in
Share this book on...
..?
Book recommendations
Latest news
Tip from find-more-books.com
Advertising
Paid advertisement
FILTER
- 0 Results
Lowest price: 3.25 EUR, highest price: 18.64 EUR, average price: 9.84 EUR
Emergence: The Connected Lives of Ants, Brains, Cities, and Software - Steven Johnson
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Steven Johnson:

Emergence: The Connected Lives of Ants, Brains, Cities, and Software - used book

ISBN: 0684868768

ID: 2279259

An individual ant, like an individual neuron, is just about as dumb as can be. Connect enough of them together properly, though, and you get spontaneous intelligence. Web pundit Steven Johnson explains what we know about this phenomenon with a rare lucidity in Emergence: The Connected Lives of Ants, Brains, Cities, and Software. Starting with the weird behavior of the semi-colonial organisms we call slime molds, Johnson details the development of increasingly complex and familiar behavior among simple components: cells, insects, and software developers all find their place in greater schemes. Most game players, alas, live on something close to day-trader time, at least when they're in the middle of a game--thinking more about their next move than their next meal, and usually blissfully oblivious to the ten- or twenty-year trajectory of software development. No one wants to play with a toy that's going to be fun after a few decades of tinkering--the toys have to be engaging now, or kids will find other toys. Johnson has a knack for explaining complicated and counterintuitive ideas cleverly without stealing the scene. Though we're far from fully understanding how complex behavior manifests from simple units and rules, our awareness that such emergence is possible is guiding research across disciplines. Readers unfamiliar with the sciences of complexity will find Emergence an excellent starting point, while those who we computer science,computers and technology,engineering,environmental engineering,historical study and educational resources,history,history and philosophy,mechanical,physics,politics and social sciences Physics, Scribner

Used Book Thriftbooks.com
used Shipping costs:zzgl. Versandkosten, plus shipping costs
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
Emergence: The Connected Lives of Ants, Brains, Cities, and Software - Steven Johnson
book is out-of-stock
(*)

Steven Johnson:

Emergence: The Connected Lives of Ants, Brains, Cities, and Software - Paperback

ISBN: 0684868768

ID: 10515576526

[EAN: 9780684868769], Neubuch, [PU: Scribner], STEVEN JOHNSON,TECHNOLOGY,COMPUTER SCIENCE,SCIENCE AND MATHEMATICS,INFORMATION THEORY,SYSTEM THEORY,ENVIRONMENTAL ENGINEERING,SOCIOLOGY, Science|System Theory, Technology|Engineering|General, Technology|General, Computers & the Internet|Information Theory, Paperback. 288 pages. Dimensions: 8.4in. x 5.4in. x 0.7in.A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK A VOICE LITERARY SUPPLEMENT TOP 25 FAVORITE BOOKS OF THE YEAR AN ESQUIRE MAGAZINE BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR In the tradition of Being Digital and The Tipping Point, Steven Johnson, acclaimed as a cultural critic with a poets heart (The Village Voice), takes readers on an eye-opening journey through emergence theory and its applications. Explaining why the whole is sometimes smarter than the sum of its parts, Johnson presents surprising examples of feedback, self-organization, and adaptive learning. How does a lively neighborhood evolve out of a disconnected group of shopkeepers, bartenders, and real estate developers How does a media event take on a life of its own How will new software programs create an intelligent World Wide Web In the coming years, the power of self-organization -- coupled with the connective technology of the Internet -- will usher in a revolution every bit as significant as the introduction of electricity. Provocative and engaging, Emergence puts you on the front lines of this exciting upheaval in science and thought. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN.

New book Abebooks.de
BuySomeBooks, Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A. [52360437] [Rating: 5 (von 5)]
NEW BOOK Shipping costs: EUR 11.78
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
Emergence: The Connected Lives of Ants, Brains, Cities, and Software - Johnson, Steven
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Johnson, Steven:
Emergence: The Connected Lives of Ants, Brains, Cities, and Software - used book

ISBN: 9780684868769

ID: 2506068

A "NEW YORK TIMES" NOTABLE BOOK A "VOICE LITERARY SUPPLEMENT" TOP 25 FAVORITE BOOKS OF THE YEAR AN "ESQUIRE" MAGAZINE BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR In the tradition of "Being Digital" and "The Tipping Point, " Steven Johnson, acclaimed as a "cultural critic with a poet's heart" "(The Village Voice), " takes readers on an eye-opening journey through emergence theory and its applications. Explaining why the whole is sometimes smarter than the sum of its parts, Johnson presents surprising examples of feedback, self-organization, and adaptive learning. How does a lively neighborhood evolve out of a disconnected group of shopkeepers, bartenders, and real estate developers? How does a media event take on a life of its own? How will new software programs create an intelligent World Wide Web? In the coming years, the power of self-organization -- coupled with the connective technology of the Internet -- will usher in a revolution every bit as significant as the introduction of electricity. Provocative and engaging, "Emergence" puts you on the front lines of this exciting upheaval in science and thought. Emergence: The Connected Lives of Ants, Brains, Cities, and Software Johnson, Steven, Scribner Book Company

Used Book Betterworldbooks.com
Shipping costs:zzgl. Versandkosten, plus shipping costs
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
Emergence: The Connected Lives of Ants, Brains, Cities, and Software - Steven Johnson
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Steven Johnson:
Emergence: The Connected Lives of Ants, Brains, Cities, and Software - new book

ISBN: 9780684868769

ID: 163691425

In the groundbreaking tradition of ´´Complexity´´ and ´´The Society of Mind, ´´ visionary guru Johnson makes sense of the cutting-edge theory of emergence and demonstrates its relevance in today´s--and tomorrow´s--world. Illustrations. The Connected Lives of Ants, Brains, Cities, and Software Buch (fremdspr.) Bücher>Fremdsprachige Bücher>Englische Bücher, Touchstone Press

New book Thalia.de
No. 4094358 Shipping costs:, Versandfertig in 1 - 2 Wochen, DE (EUR 0.00)
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.
Emergence The Connected Lives of Ants Brains Cities and Software - Steven Johnson
book is out-of-stock
(*)
Steven Johnson:
Emergence The Connected Lives of Ants Brains Cities and Software - new book

ISBN: 9780684868769

ID: 9780684868769

Emergence The Connected Lives of Ants Brains Cities and Software Author :Steven Johnson 9780684868769 0684868768, [PU: Scribners]

New book printsasia.de
new Shipping costs: EUR 0.00
Details...
(*) Book out-of-stock means that the book is currently not available at any of the associated platforms we search.

< to search results...
Details of the book
Emergence: The Connected Lives of Ants, Brains, Cities, and Software
Author:

Johnson, Steven

Title:

Emergence: The Connected Lives of Ants, Brains, Cities, and Software

ISBN:

0684868768

In the groundbreaking tradition of "Complexity" and "The Society of Mind, " visionary guru Johnson makes sense of the cutting-edge theory of emergence and demonstrates its relevance in today's--and tomorrow's--world. Illustrations.

Details of the book - Emergence: The Connected Lives of Ants, Brains, Cities, and Software


EAN (ISBN-13): 9780684868769
ISBN (ISBN-10): 0684868768
Paperback
Publishing year: 2002
Publisher: TOUCHSTONE PR
288 Pages
Weight: 0,272 kg
Language: eng/Englisch

Book in our database since 30.05.2007 10:49:37
Book found last time on 09.11.2016 06:13:07
ISBN/EAN: 0684868768

ISBN - alternate spelling:
0-684-86876-8, 978-0-684-86876-9

< to search results...
< to archive...
Nearby books